What is the general consensus “most romantic thing ever” that a guy can do for a girl?

Sad and Awesome in equal parts…

Answer by Nick Michaels:

I'm a guy so I'll tell you the "most romantic thing ever" I think I've ever done for a girl.

There was this girl. Amber was her name. I was 17 then (I am 20 now) and I might've been too young to say this, but I love her and still do. Blonde, beautiful, smart, funny as hell, talented, everything a guy could ever want in a girl, and she chose me.

I found out that her favorite song was 'You and Me' by Lifehouse. Very few people knew this. Very few. I learned and sang that song, recorded a video of me playing and singing it (she was on a vacation, so I couldn't do it in person). I never looked into the camera, except when I sang the line, "I don't know why I can't keep my eyes off of you."

I gave that to her after she came home from vacation. I said, "Amber, I'd like to give this to you. To show how much I love you. Just pop it into your computer, watch, and listen." So she did. I waited on her couch to see her response. She came outside of her bedroom, eyes full of tears and bawling: "Nick, how did you know?" I said, "Your father told me that it was your favorite song. He told me that you'd always listen to it before you went to sleep because you'd be singing it out loud." (Her father had passed away from lung cancer exactly one year before I recorded it). She looked at me and said, "This is the sweetest thing any guy has ever done for me. Thank you so much." I said, "Ah, I try." She couldn't stop hugging me. I think we hugged for a solid 10 minutes before I had to leave. She called me after I got home. She said, "Nick, how can I ever repay you for this?" I said, "You already have. You are in my life. You are the most wonderful girl I've ever met. You make me laugh uncontrollably and you always find a way to put a smile on my face, Amber. I am proud to have you in my life."

She told me everyday since then that she listened to my version of the song before she fell asleep to it. We were madly in love with each other. I felt the world turn more slowly when I was with her. It was meant to be. I had found my soul mate. And Amber was her name.

About a month after I did that for her, she was involved in a horrific hit-and-run accident. Some piece of $hit decided to go out of his GD way to hit my Amber. My beautiful, innocent, Amber. My only thoughts were: why her, of all people. Why? She doesn't deserve this.

I arrived at the scene and saw her. She was motionless, nothing. Not a single movement. I fell to my knees and cried and cried and cried. I rode with her in the ambulance. I held her hand the entire trip to the hospital, hoping and praying that she would be all right.

She was in a coma for three months. Then she woke up. The doctors told me she had lost all memory, that she'd never recognize me ever in her life.

While in her coma, and after her waking up from it, I'd go and see her every day in the hospital. I'd play and sing her favorite song: 'You and Me' by Lifehouse. She somehow recollected that that was her favorite song, but she had no idea who I was. That tore me apart, knowing that she'd never remember me. Playing and singing for her was enough, though.

A couple of days before she died, I was playing and singing the line, "I don't know why I can't keep my eyes off of you." She said, "Nick, how did you know?" I cried and cried forever. She defied the odds. She knew who I was, even after the severe brain trauma and the doctors saying she'll never recognize me.

I played and sang her favorite song 'You and Me' by Lifehouse at her funeral. I had to stop seven times because I couldn't stop crying. But I did it. Everyday after I get home from work, I take care of my dog, and then grab my Taylor. I drive the 13.4 miles to her grave, sit down in the grass, and start playing and singing her favorite song, 'You and Me' by Lifehouse. It brings me to tears every time. Every time. Knowing that she's in a better place and free of pain is comforting. But knowing I'll never get to see the love of my life is the hardest thing for me.

– Nick, the guitar guy

What is the general consensus "most romantic thing ever" that a guy can do for a girl?

Leave a Reply

